I am the way, the truth and the life; no man cometh unto the Father but by me. – John 14:6

Such simple words and yet, in my opinion, they are one of the building blocks in the foundation of Christianity. Jesus tells us that He is the way to the Father. For you to be accepted and have your name written into the Book of Life, you must first accept Jesus Christ as your Savior. I grew up in a Catholic church but I can’t recall ever hearing this taught or preached during the homily. The priest spoke of the gospels and how they related to our lives. In hindsight, I think they spent a lot of time relating the gospel back to tithing but I’ll leave that for a possible future post.

For a while, I didn’t even go to church because it held nothing for me. There was nothing there to bring me in and keep me. I didn’t feel that I belonged. I didn’t feel that the sermons related to me or my life and didn’t help fill a void that needed to be filled. I got married in 2005 and started going to an Episcopal church. The Episcopal church is the American version of the Church of England. I felt a sense of belonging in this place. I’m not sure why but I just did. Then the church started allowing gay clergy. That goes against what I believe and what I believe the Bible teaches.

Now I found myself without a church. I was back to being lost. Around Thanksgiving of 2011, my stepson started showing us videos of different pastors teaching from the Bible. One pastor said that in order to be accepted by Christ, you must first accept Christ as your Lord and Savior. He repeated a simple prayer and said that if you recite that prayer and truly feel it in your heart, great things will happen. You will be accepted by Christ and you will be filled with the Holy Spirit.

That’s part of why I’m writing this post. I did just that in December of 2011 and I’ve never looked back. It’s actually a fairly simple prayer and there’s really no right or wrong way of doing it. Simply pray to Jesus and acknowledge that you are a sinner and that you would like Him to come into your heart right now and be your Lord and Savior. When Jesus said He was the way, the truth and the life, I think he meant that by accepting Him, you accept God and all the benefits that come with it.

Walk in the light of Christ and you walk with God because the two are One.

Accept Christ and your eyes and ears will open to things that you never thought about before. That’s where my journey into prophecy began.

More to come soon…

