“Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God.” – John 3:10 NKJV

Tonight is a big night for me and my family: we are being baptized.

For some reason, though, I had initial feelings of trepidation in addition to a number of questions: Do I really need to do this? Can I be saved without being baptized? Is this ready the church where I want to be baptized? Trust me, it all went through my head. My father-in-law said that ‘it doesn’t matter who’s doing the dunking as long as you get dunked.’ My sister-in-law said that ‘if it’s good enough for Jesus, it’s good enough for me.’ Those words (along with a lot of prayer) have helped calm my fears and understand that this is something we are commanded to do by Jesus. The above passage tells us as much.

Baptism is the next step after beginning your walk with Christ. As new Christians, we must be baptized in water, as Jesus commands us. By doing this, we are showing that we are committed to the Church as well as committed to walking in the footsteps of Jesus. By being baptized in water, we are becoming alive in Christ.

But the first step is to accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior Confess to Him that you are a sinner and that you need Him in your life. Repent of your sins and invite Jesus into your heart. You may not notice anything immediately but you will begin to see changes in your life for the better. I’m experiencing them now and it’s awesome!

God bless!

