Tags

, , , ,


I have posted several things here related to Scripture, etc. but the one thing I never posted was my testimony. How I decided to become a follower of Jesus Christ.

I was born and raised in the Catholic church. I got caught up in what might be seen as the ceremony of the mass: the vestments, the shiny chalices, the ringing of the bells, the incense. It all seemed so cool and holy. I had been to many of the larger cathedrals and couldn’t help but marvel at their size and that they seemed to go so high that they could actually touch God (the Tower of Babel comes to mind and you can see how that worked out).

As I got older, I started to question a lot of things. I think it all started when I was in college. I was eating lunch on a Friday during Lent. I was eating an Italian hoagie and suddenly stopped when I realized I was eating meat. I made a comment about it and my friend (who was sitting across from me) said ‘Don’t worry about it. That’s a man-made rule.’ I’m not sure if that’s when I started thinking differently about my faith but the questions did eventually come.

I began to ask myself those questions that started to not make sense anymore: Why do we not eat meat on Fridays during Lent? Why do I confess my sins to someone who is a sinner? Why is it not okay to get a divorce but if you pay enough money to the church, then it’s okay? Church seemed to lose its feeling. You could go to just about any Catholic church and hear every prayer the same way. If you closed your eyes, you wouldn’t know the difference between your own church and anyone else’s.

Over time, the answer to those questions never came. I became less interested in church and went through the motions. I stopped going and wasn’t quite sure what to believe anymore. Right around the year 2003 or so, I became interested in the New Age movement.

I went all the way: Rune stones, tarot cards, candles, spells, meditation. I was into the whole thing. It seemed like a comfortable place. But that’s where Satan wants you. Someplace where you get a warm and fuzzy and you don’t want to leave. Now he can do what he pleases with you because you’re a willing participant. Trust me, he did. I started seeing shadow people and hearing voices when no one else was around and the TV was off.

Then I met my soon-to-be wife. When I was moving my stuff into her house, she saw the tarot cards and such and immediately said ‘Not in this house. Get rid of it.’ So I did. I felt I was losing a part of myself but thought losing her would be worse.

I started going to an Episcopal church with her but it just seemed to be the British version of the Catholic church. After a while, we both thought going to church was tedious and took up time on our Sunday so we stopped going altogether.

Please don’t get me wrong. I’m not bashing Catholicism or the Episcopal church. It just wasn’t for me anymore. I was looking for answers but couldn’t fine them.

Things changed in 2012 when my wife stumbled across the author L.A. Marzulli. He started talking about things such as the Nephilim and the Bible (he calls it The Guidebook to the Supernatural). It was then that our eyes started to open to the world around us: chemtrails, the Illuminati, etc. I think God was telling us that something was happening and something is coming and you better start paying attention.

That summer, I gave my life to Jesus and I haven’t looked back. I realize that all of the pomp and circumstance is unnecessary. As the Bible says in John 3:14-15:

“And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of Man be lifted up, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life.”

That’s really all there is to it. Give your life to Jesus, believe in Him and be baptized by water and by the Spirit and you are saved. Be the disciples Jesus wants us to be. Bring others to salvation. No earthly reward can be greater than the reward that you will receive in Heaven.

And that’s my testimony. It’s a bit long but it’s a story I felt needed to be told. And feel God was prompting me to tell it. Our Christian walk isn’t an easy one but it’s worth it for sure.

God Bless!

