Tags


The word ‘faith’ has a number of definitions. One definition (as seen on dictionary.com) states that faith is “the obligation of loyalty or fidelity to a person, promise, engagement, etc.” It is also defined as the observance of that obligation or “fidelity to one’s promise, oath, allegiance, etc.”

As Christians, we are to humble ourselves before God. We are to praise Him always and to follow in the footsteps of His One and Only Son, Jesus. It is our faith that guides us in this.

Is our faith ever tested? For me, that’s a resounding yes. When I see bad things happen to good people; when I see Christians around the world persecuted for their faith and belief in God, whom they have never seen. When things don’t work out for them at home or at work, sometimes we will look towards the heavens and ask “Why?”

Sometimes we want to give up on God and stop our Christian walk. Some, in fact, do. Others continue on but with reservations.

He, however, never gives up on us. No matter how sinful we are, He continues to give us every opportunity to redeem ourselves. That is His faith in us; His obligation to His children. He continues this through His Son Jesus Christ. Solomon reminds us of this in the Book of Proverbs

“Faithful are the wounds of a friend, but the kisses of an enemy are deceitful.” Proverbs 27:6 NKJV

When Jesus began his ministry, He knew what was to come. He knew that He would suffer and die for the sins of all. He knew that His suffering would be great. He could have taken the easy way out and walked away but He didn’t. He fulfilled His obligation to us by suffering and dying in the cross. His suffering could not compare to ours and yet He did not walk away from us.

When I first read that passage, I immediately thought of Jesus and his suffering. I believe it was the Holy Spirit reminding me what He went through. That seemed to put my daily concerns into perspective. I’m now learning to lean on God rather than myself and to give my day to Him as He already knows His plan for me.

If you have not given your life to Jesus and would like to know the plan that God has in store for you, I invite you to do so now. Ask Jesus into your life and your heart. Acknowledge that you are a sinner and ask for His forgiveness. He forgives all transgressions because He continues to have faith in us.

