Tags

,


Just about every story you’ll find on the bookshelf of your local bookstore has a beginning. The Bible is no exception. The beginning of this book, however, quite different from anything you may have read before.

The first book of the Bible is Genesis. The word genesis is a Greek word the means “origin’ or “beginning.” The Hebrew title for this book is Bereshith, which means “In the Beginning.”

When I first began reading the Bible, I didn’t put a lot of work into learning Genesis. I knew it was a book that told how God created Heaven and Earth and then, right around the middle, was a long genealogical list of men. I skimmed through much of this because I knew there were a lot of names I would never remember. It wasn’t until I started reading the entire Bible a second time that something caught my eye and I was moved to start my research (I will expound on this in a later post).

My own examination shows that it is a book of beginnings. It starts with the origin of the Heavens and the Earth followed by the origin of man and then the origin of man after the flood, starting with Noah’s sons.

This one book is the starting point for everything else that is in the Bible. God gave these words to Moses that they should be written down and passed down to each succeeding generation. I honestly don’t think that any one word of the Bible should ever be glossed over or skimmed through as each one is so important.

In my next post, I hope to go into more detail of what I am learning from this book. I will also add in commentaries from other authors as well. I am, by no means, a biblical scholar. I just want to relay some of what I believe has been revealed to me not just about this book but about the Bible itself.

As always, comments and discussion are welcome!

God Bless!

