Tags

, ,


I hadn’t heard about this before until I saw it on Facebook and my wife mentioned it to me that same night. This seems to be the latest social media fad and it’s called ‘Charlie, Charlie.’

From what I can see, you take a sheet of paper and place two pencils on top of the paper in the shape of a plus sign, balancing one pencil on top of the other. After you do this, you will see four quadrants on the paper. You alternate writing the words ‘Yes’ and ‘No’ in each of the boxes. You then ask questions by prefacing them with the name of Charlie (saying it twice). You can continue to ask ‘yes or no’ questions until the pencil moves to either ‘Yes’ or ‘No.’

When I first saw this, it reminded me of the Quija board. I used one of these when I was young. My cousin and I sat one between us and placed our hands on the planchette. We then asked questions and, naturally, it started to move. Until I was saved, I didn’t realize the occult attachments with this so-called game. I also didn’t realize that doors to the demonic could also be opened in the process.

The same holds true for this latest incarnation of the occult classic. This is something that should not be played with nor taken lightly by anyone. There exists the overwhelming chance of opening doors to the demonic and allowing the demonic access and residence in your home and even within yourself. It’s not a game! If you are in someone’s home where they have tried conjuring up Charlie, rebuke it in the name of Jesus and get out of the house!

The occult is not something to be taken lightly. I know from experience this is the case. I was involved in Wicca for nearly two years and began to see shadow people (among other things) as I became more involved. Circumstances caused our group to stop gathering and I stopped practicing. Looking back, I believe God had His hand in this. He knew where I was headed and set things in motion to change my path.

“For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.” Ephesians 6:12 (NKJV)

Rather than call on the ruler of darkness, call on the light that is found in Jesus. Give your life to Him. Confess your sins to Him and ask Him into your life and into your heart. He (and His Father in Heaven) has so much more to offer you than the demonic ever could.

