I have been struggling to figure out where I am going with my career.

I have a great job with a great company and make good money but, at the end of the day, I always feel as though my skills and talent are underutilized and I am left feeling empty and unfulfilled.

I recently interviewed (within my company) for a spot as a team lead in my group. I wasn’t chosen for that position. I was told I cam in a ‘close second.’ Naturally, I was dejected and walked away wondering where I am going to go in my career. I was told about another opportunity for a team lead position but that has yet to happen so I’m not very hopeful.

I was then reminded of a passage from Jeremiah that my wife had sent me before the interview:

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11 NKJV

As it turns out, I’ve been seeing that passage in a number of places, whether on Facebook, Google + or elsewhere. I think God is trying to remind me that he has me where I am for a reason. I may not know what that reason is right now but I am content to be here at the moment.

The Christian walk isn’t an easy walk. There are times when I find myself expecting things to happen quickly for me. The ‘instant gratification’ factor is huge. But in those times of disappointment, we can look towards God’s Words to Jeremiah and rest assured that He has nothing but good things for our future.

 

