Tags

, , , , , , ,


I logged into WordPress for the first time in a long time because I felt the need or maybe I should say I felt lead) to write something. I happened to be looking at the Drafts folder and found the entry you are reading. The only thing that was in the draft was the title; and I’ve altered it already. Originally, it only said ‘1 John 4:4.’

For the life of me, I couldn’t think of why I had started this draft. So, being as diligent as I could be, I pulled out my Bible and read that passage of scripture again:

“Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is in He that is in you, than he that is in the world.” 1 John 4:4 (KJV)

I decided to look at my YouVersion Bible app on my Kindle for the exact wording and, as it turns out, this passage is one of my highlighted passages. Okay, so now I’m thinking that there must be something to this and that I was certainly lead here for a reason.

Each of us has a struggle we deal with everyday, whether it be something like one’s pride or jealousy of others or something more serious like drugs and alcohol. All believe that all of these are rooted in the influence of ‘he that is in the world.’ That ‘he’ is Satan.

Even as Christians, we struggle with these temptations each and every day. We must keep in mind that God is always there for us. We we were saved, Jesus became a part of us and is dwelling in our hearts. He that is in us is greater than he that is in the world.’ No struggle is too great for God to help us overcome.

I heard teaching by a pastor who said that each time you struggle with a thought or an action, stop and capture the thought in Jesus’ name and tell it to stop. I can say that it has helped me a lot with my daily struggles. Try it and see if it can work in your life as well. If not, then one think you can be sure of is that you can cry out to God (with a sincere and open heart) for help and He will answer you.

If you aren’t a Christian and are struggling, then consider giving your life over to Jesus. Ask Him to forgive your sins, repent of those sins and ask Him into your heart and to be your personal Lord and Savior. Then start walking in His ways, studying the gospel and getting to know Him personally. It’s not an easy trip to take but when the alternative is eternity in Hell, it’s definitely worth it.

I’m new to this walk as well but if you are struggling or just want to chat, post a comment and I will do what I can to help out.

God Bless!

 

