Tags

, , , , , ,


Earlier this week, I was having a discussion with one of my co-workers about the Old and New Testaments. I don’t honestly know how we got on the topic but my co-worker brought up the Bible and the fact that we don’t need to be following the Old Testament anymore. Now, I will add here that he is Catholic so that is definitely influencing his beliefs. The Old Testament is taught very little, if at all, in the Catholic Church or schools.

After he made his statement about the Old Testament, I told him that after Jesus’ crucifixion and resurrection, the sacrificial laws were fulfilled but not the moral laws. The moral laws from the Old Testament still apply today. What I didn’t get a chance to explain was that the Old and New Testaments are forever linked together.

I once heard a saying that the ‘Old Testament is the New Testament concealed and the New Testament is the Old Testament revealed.’ As I read the Bible and listen to Bible scholars and do Bible study, I see and hear some of these links. One of them, however, came to me that I had not thought about before.

In the Book of Exodus, God is delivering plagues onto Egypt. One of them is the plague where all of the first born will die unless they are inside with the blood of a lamb spread on the doorposts and lentil. We can see this in Exodus 12:23.

What struck me is that this is a foreshadow of what it to come with the crucifixion of Jesus.

If looked at closely, the doorposts and lintel can appear to take the shape of the cross, the blood of the lamb (Jesus) spread on the doorposts and lentil. Anyone in a house that is covered by the blood of the lamb will not die. The same holds true for anyone who accepts Jesus as their Lord and Savior. His blood was shed on the cross for our sins and for our salvation. His was the final sacrifice for the forgiveness of all sins for everyone.

They are covered by the blood of the Lamb and will not die. Yes, we will succumb to a physical death (barring the rapture, of course) but our spirits will be with Jesus forever. What an awesome thought!

There are other examples of this but the fact remains that you can’t take the Old Testament away from the New because each of these are part of the other; they are forever linked as one book.

I believe that the only way to see these links is to be filled with the Holy Spirit. And one can only do that if they are saved.

If you want to be sure of your eternal destiny, give your life to Jesus and make Him your Lord and Savior. Repent of your sins and ask for forgiveness and then start studying the Word. It’s not just a book; it’s a guidebook for all of life’s ups and downs. You’ll gain insight that you never thought possible.

