Tags

, , ,


I was recently reading through a website called Charisma News. I saw the following article:

Historic Calvary Baptist Church Hires Lesbian Couple as Pastors — Charisma News

I wasnt’ quite sure how to write about this. Or if I even should have written about this. But, in the end, I decided that it would be best to address the apostasy we are now seeing in the church.

The word apostasy comes from the Greek word ‘apostasia.’ It means a change in beliefs from one type to another. It is oftentimes coupled with a complete rejection of the beliefs you previously held in favor of the new beliefs. Converting to Islam from Christianity would be an example of this.

The apostles warned that the day will come when false teachers and false prophets will begin to infiltrate the church:

“For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine, but according to their own desires because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers; and they will turn away from the truth, and be turn aside to fables.” (2 Timothy 4:3-4)

By making the decision to hire a lesbian couple as pastors, the Calvary Baptist Church has now, in my opinion, become an apostate church. They are going against the teachings of the moral laws (see Leviticus 18:22 and Romans 1:26-27).

I believe this to be part of a larger problem with the church. And by that, I mean, both the body of believers and the buildings themselves. For me, personally, it’s something that’s been keeping me from attending church.

I was attending a church for a bit but as I became more ‘awake’, I (and my wife) noticed that they weren’t doing a lot of Bible teaching or anything like that. There wasn’t much in the way of prayer or spiritual warfare; there was a lot of worship music (nothing wrong with worship music) but not a lot of time spent teaching the body about the things that are going on in the world and what we can do about it. I categorize this as being ‘seeker-friendly.’ They only want to portray what is good and leave the bad stuff out. It’s not about equipping the body…it’s about filling the seats.

The body of Christ needs to get out of its slumber and realize that the end of days is upon us and we need to be ready. The infiltration of the church is under way and we better wake up before it’s too late.

