Tags

, , , , , , ,


I will start this post by admitting that I was a big fan of ‘Ghost Hunters’ on the SyFy Channel. I would make sure I had the DVR set because I normally wouldn’t be able to catch in when it aired on Wednesday nights.

It was fun to watch the team walk through different sites and try to capture everything from actual physical manifestations to EVPs and the like. It kept me riveted to the TV for an hour (or more if I had shows that were backed up in the queue).

It wasn’t until I started learning more about this unseen realm that I realized it wasn’t all it seems to be.

Hunting ghosts and goblins would appear, on the outside, to be a harmless activity but the reality is that it’s anything but. Many years ago (before I was saved), I used to dabble in this sort of practice. Some friends of mine and I would gather together and seances and cast spells hoping to bring back a family member to speak with them.

Let me tell you, from firsthand experience, that’s not a good thing. When you start seeing shadow figures and hearing conversations when no one is around, you start to realize that what you’re doing is not going to end well.

God tells us explicitly that we are not to engage in this practice:

There shall not be found among you any one that maketh his son or his daughter to pass through the fire, or that useth divination, or an observer of time, or an enchanter, or a witch, Or a charmer, or a consulter with familiar spirits, or a wizard, or a necromancer. For all that do these things are an abomination unto the Lord:…” (Deuteronomy 18:10-12 KJV)

Personally, I don’t believe that the dead are coming back to talk with us:

And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgement.” (Hebrews 9:27 KJV)

I believe that what is coming into this realm is the demonic; the minions of Satan. They can learn and interact with us so it wouldn’t be too far-fetched to believe that they can learn about deceased relatives and take on their shape as an apparition.

So when you see people on shows like ‘Ghost Hunters’, ‘Ghost Adventures’, ‘Ghost Brothers’, et. al., realize that they are, more than likely, speaking with demons.

I believe this to be part of the deception Jesus warns us about in Matthew 24. Unless the pastors out there confront this head-on with their congregations, then many in the body of Christ will be led down that path of deception.

Folks, we need to be prepared for what is to come. There are too many ‘let me tell you what you want to hear’ churches out there. This is only adding to the deception. Many are being fed the milk rather than the meat.

Whether I write an original blog or add to a story that’s already out there, I will do my best to get this information out to whomever is willing to read it.

But always know that we have our refuge in Jesus. Just call on him and believe and you shall be saved.

God bless!

