Tags

, ,


It’s amazing how the Lord works.

I’ve been trying to come up with a new topic to write about. There are times when I find it difficult to come up with something new rather than trying to piggyback off of a story that’s already out there.

Then I saw the same Bible verse from Joshua twice in the same week from two different sources. I think He’s telling me where to start. Now I give it to the Holy Spirit to give me the words to put on the page.

And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell; but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” (Joshua 24:15 KJV).

At this time, Joshua has just brought the people of Israel into the promised land. The land of Canaan, at this time, was occupied by the Amorties. They had their own set of gods and did not worship God. Because of their worship of other gods, I believe some of the Israelites began to worship these gods. They had already begun doing this when Moses was on Mount Sinai receiving the Ten Commandments. They forced Aaron to make them a golden calf so that they could worship it.

I believe this to be the reason Joshua stated what he did in the above passage. If the Israelites were to enjoy the blessings of God, they needed to turn to Him and serve and worship Him and Him alone.

Do some of us worship our own gods? Money? Power? Cars? Jewelry? Social media?

These are all materialistic things and, in the grand scheme, have no value where God is concerned. We are always striving for the most expensive car or the nicest clothes and jewelry.

Now don’t get me wrong. It’s nice to have nice things but at what point do we start to worship these things rather than asking God for his provision?

We’ve become a materialistic society and our reliance on God has waned. We try to do better than what we think God would do for us. We are the ‘me me me’ generation. And I have fallen into this many times in my life. But now I’m trying to take a different perspective, with the understanding that God will provide all our needs. He may not give us what we want but He will provide exactly what we need.

And as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

God Bless!

