Tags

, , , , ,


I’m a little hacked off.

On second thought, I’m a lot hacked off.

I just happened to be perusing my Facebook feed when I came upon an article, dated June 11, 2017, from the Atlantic. The title of the article reads as follows:

“Southern Baptists Embrace Gender-Inclusive Language in the Bible.”

The title itself lit the kindling. As I read the article, the fire started.

We have gone full-bore, throttle-to-the-firewall into the Land of Political Correctness and I’m not sure there’s anyway to stop this crazy train and turn back.

It started with Target changing their bathroom policy and then it snowballed from there. We are now at the point where people now longer identify as man or woman but can now identify a ‘non-specific non-binary.’ I don’t actually have any idea what that is.

I grew up in a time where this sort of thing was unheard of. If there were people out there who identified as transgender, it was not displayed in the open square as it is today. Things like this were kept out of the limelight.

Now it is displayed openly to the point where people are going out of their way to not offend anyone.

Now don’t get the wrong impression of me. I am not the kind of person who will treat someone identifying like this any differently than anyone else. I just find it disturbing that we are catering to approximately .02% of the population.

And the church, being the last bastion of hope and righteousness, is succumbing to this as well:

At the beginning of this year, the Calvary Baptist Church hired a lesbian couple as pastors.

The Methodist Church has appointed its first transgender, non-binary member of clergy.

And now, in what I call the ultimate blasphemy, the Southern Baptist Church has commissioned a translation of the Bible that completely does away with gender-specific identifications.

As an example, the term ‘man’ is now translated to ‘human’ or ‘person’; the ‘men of Israei’ now becomes ‘fellow Israelites.

And the list goes on.

How did we get to this point where we are now altering the Word of God so that people are not offended by it? If there are parts of the Bible that offend you, then maybe you need to examine your life in more detail and find out why.

The Word of God should not be altered in any way. It should be translated as, as closely as possible, from the original texts. I am a King James person and, at times, New King James. When we start to water down the text, we also start to water down its meaning. And when we do that, we start to water down the message of the Gospel.

And isn’t that what is being preached in some of the churches today?

Okay, I’m off my soapbox. What I wrote here may have offended some and you may decide to stop following my blog and that’s okay. I don’t take it personally. I started this blog as a fun outlet, without thinking anyone would read it. And then people started reading it.

I put myself out there and it’s me on the page. I’m getting too old to worry about who I’m going to offend. I don’t go out of my way to offend but I’m just a matter-of-fact kind of person.

God Bless!

 

