Tags

, , , , ,


This specific verse has come up a couple of times in the last week or so. When this happens, I try to write something about it.

I’m not sure if I have mentioned in an earlier post but I had been praying to God about what His plan is for me. In fact, I may have been in my car going to work. Sometimes I do my best thinking in the car.

As I was driving, I asked Him “What is it that You will have me do to further Your work?

I have always wondered this. I am trying to study as much as I can and learn about His Word but I always felt that I needed to do more. While I was driving, a word came to me:

Write.

I’m pretty sure it wasn’t my own thoughts in my head. It just hit me out of the blue so I’m pretty sure it was Him telling me what He wanted me to do. So that’s what I’m trying to do, as much as I can.

One of those topics is Hebrews 9:22. I’ve heard it mentioned more than a few times in the last week so I thought I would write something about it.

And almost all things are by the law purged with the blood; and without the shedding of blood is no remission.” (Hebrews 9:22 KJV)

In order to properly understand what this passage is saying, we need to go back to the time of Moses and the laws of sacrifice.

Back in those days, there was no Messiah to whom you could turn for salvation and forgiveness. The sins committed by the people against God needed to be atoned for. To that end, the priest would sacrifice calves and goats. He would take their blood and pour it out around the altar and sprinkle it on the altar itself. This was part of the Old Testament covenant. The sins were not forgiven. The power of the sin was still there. The sin was simply atoned for.

Now move ahead some two thousand years later when Jesus Christ comes on the scene. He is the one and only Son of God; He is the Lamb of God who is willing to give of Himself for the remission of our sins. Not just as an atonement as in the days of the old covenant. His sacrifice on the cross will completely wash us of our sins. Every sin we have committed and will ever commit. The forgiveness of that sin can be found in the sacrifice made on the cross. This is the symbol of the new covenant which God has made with us! The shedding of His blood on the cross was necessary for the remission of our sins. Without the shedding of the blood, there is no remission of sins.

Every time I read the Bible or do an online Bible study (Chuck Missler is a great resource), I am amazed at the new and wonderful things I find. If anyone says that the Bible is a book of fairy tales, then they just haven’t taken the time to actually read it.

If you have not done so already, I invite you to take advantage of the sacrifice of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and place your trust in Him. Repent of the sins that you have committed, ask for forgiveness, and believe in your heart that Jesus is the Son of God and you will be guaranteed a place in the Lamb’s Book of Life.

Thank you for reading and God Bless!